My favourite books by Penguin India #books #Favorites

Reading constantly motivates me to combat the hurdles of life, gives me the confidence to lead my life my way.It energises my whole being. Being a bookworm since childhood I used to keep an eye on the new books from the different genres.It was like an adventure for me,scaling on a new untraced territory.During the whole journey, few books left a deep imprint on my mind. The characters,their emotions and their tales still reverberates in the memory lane.Penguin India has been doing splendid job bringing forth the groundbreaking books since last few decades. Few of my favourites from the Penguin publishing house are as follows.

1.Making an Mango Whistle by Bibhutibhushan Bandyopadhyay: An amazing tale of siblings Apu and Durga growing up in rural Bengal.Their adventures, plays,talks, cooking-out will revujunate your childhood. The prose is laden with freshness of nature, warmness of brother-sister bond and eagerness of a child. The author deftly portrayed the thick blanket of class difference, illiteracy and superstition which kept the countryside in its wraps. A must read for all prose lovers.

2. Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Gracia Marquez:
A beautiful story that reflects Love is eternal. The love of Florentino and Fermina will warm the heart of readers. The writer is a wordsmith, the rich language will take the reader to the picturesque premise. The virtues and vices of humans according to the given circumstances shape them. A must read for historical fiction lovers.

3. Laburnum for my head by Temsula Ao :A collection of thought provoking short stories that skillfully depict the fabric of complex human emotions. Each story is unique and stand tall on its own. The serenity of the hills expounding through the text will touch the unknown spaces of your heart, will make you yearn for the carefree uneventful life of the cold hills.

4. Sea of Poppies by Amitav Ghosh : The author is a master storyteller. He takes the reader to the poppy fields, make one madly fall in love with poppy flowers, it’s lovely fragrance and the dreamy field pregnant with fresh blossoms. The writing shook my soul, made my heart bleed for the poor facing inhuman treatment and cringe at the audacity of the ruling class.The prose is a delight that leaves the reader with a warm feeling akin to the warmness left by wild honey on human palatte.

5. On the Kebab trail by Monish Gujral:

If you are a kebab lover like me then you must checkout this book.The recepie are detailed with bits of memory thrown in which make the book an amazing #cookbook.I am sure many of the readers must have tasted #MotiMahal’s food and would agree the food is delicious. For them @monishgujral is not a new name and you must have realised now why it need to be in your collection.Beside Kebabs the book has a range of breads,side dishes and basic spices recipes. For vegetarians, there are a number of vegetable kebabs too.The recepies are quite easy and the ingredients are easily available. I was quite happy with the wide range of kebabs in the book. I tried making few kebabs and breads and they came out decently in the first attempt. You must checkout this amazing piece.

This article is written as a part of #Thebookblogtrain conducted by Vidhya Thakkar and Siddhi Palande powered by Penguin India and Redwolf should not be repurposed, republished or used otherwise. The content herein is owned by the blogger. Hosts are not responsible for any infringement caused.โ€

#books #bookstagram #bookblog #bookblogger #reader #bibliophile #bookworm #readersblock #audiobooks #bookcommunity

3 thoughts on “My favourite books by Penguin India #books #Favorites

  1. Love in the time of cholera book is in my TBR for a long time. I wish to pick up soon.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close