#5uniqueways to tackle a #reader’sblock.

Many a times we face a situation where our mind refuse to travel beyond few pages or paragraphs of a book, feel utterly distracted. This situation is known as Reader’s block. It frustrates a reader to no end. It significantly affect one’s writing aptitude too.But this situation can be overcome by adopting few easy measures.

1. Stop overstressing,engage in a hobby – If at any time you discover that you are unable to read beyond a certain point on more than one occasion, then stop reading and thinking about it. Divert your energy to other works.Engage in a hobby that you love like gardening, painting, cooking etc. They help in relaxing, act as a great healer for a tensed knotted mind.

2. Be socially active: Talk with your close ones, colleagues, co-travellers and strangers. Communication inspires to write, provides the necessary fodder for the creative brain. Stories,incidents,events are discovered during many such talks. They help the brain to alleviate any kind of stress.

3. Be observant: Observe your surroundings, listen to the nature, watch the events taking place around your neighborhood. Inspiration can come from any quarter. One might end up discovering things that pique their interest,searching literature on the same and returning back to your old love reading.

4. Listen to audiobooks, music and meditate : A bookworm cannot stay away from her books for a long time.Audiobooks are a blessing especially for those readers going through a reader’s block.You can listen to the book of your interest at your own ease. It soothes the mind,help one in improving their vocabulary and speech.Listen to music as it refreshes the mood. Meditate regularly as it helps a human to focus, increase concentration and induces a positive change in life.

5. Read short stories,articles and different genres: One can read short stories collection,essays, newspaper articles, columns in the meanwhile.A reader can try exploring different genres that have remained still untouched by them.Read your favourite books as a bookworm always discover something new in the same book during such reading sessions.

Hope these ways help the readers to combat the reader’s block.They have always worked in my case.

This article is written as a part of #Thebookblogtrain conducted by Vidhya Thakkar and Siddhi Palande powered by Penguin India and Redwolf should not be repurposed, republished or used otherwise. The content herein is owned by the blogger. Hosts are not responsible for any infringement caused.”

#books #bookstagram #bookblog #bookblogger #reader #bibliophile #bookworm #readersblock #audiobooks #bookcommunity

44 thoughts on “#5uniqueways to tackle a #reader’sblock.

  1. Useful read! I follow the same. Whenever I feel I don’t want to read anymore, I take a break for 1 or 2 days and focus on my other hobbies from where I gain energy for more reading.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Observing nature is really good

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Totally relatable tips. Readers block sometimes, is not bearable and therefore, to get rid of it, we have to divert our minds to something else! Greatly penned. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good tips 😊Does power nap could be listed under meditation? I usually take a 10 min nap when I struggle to flip through the pages.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Power nap help tremendously to relax the stressed brain.

      Like

  5. Reading short stories and Inculcating new hobbies help me in overcoming reader’s block.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Any particular writer whose stories you prefer during that time

      Like

  6. I do follow these tacts when in reading slumps! Glad that nature got its way into the world of reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love substituting reading with music or a series. It definitely helps! And when I get bored of those, I hit the books!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Reader’s block is always stressful and reading short stories always helped me. I have written on this topic long back, would love to know your on that. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Early morning read is always good and I love it to the core

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sometimes, it helps to change up your routine and read something outside of your comfort zone or usual go-to helps to battle readers block easily.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. These are some great tips to tackle reader’s block. I’ve written on the same topic as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. One more tip personally when it comes to social media I totally avoid it. I really like your be social active point it really keeps us engaging and fresh.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I agree with all the points you mentioned. I personally follow many of them and they always work in my favour.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Relatable points. I take a break to divert focus. or take a walk and read again. Trying a new genre also helps

    Liked by 1 person

  15. These are very useful points

    Observing is always helpful

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am happy that you found them useful 😊

      Like

  16. This is amazing! I follow the same steps when I am in a slump!

    Pari xx
    https://parishmitasaikia.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I second each and every suggestion. Observing is actually my new favorite thing and i must say it feels so good πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am glad we could relate 😊

      Like

  18. Extremely useful tips to combat readers block.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am glad you found them useful 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Chetana Thakur Chakraborty May 30, 2019 — 6:45 am

    Reader’s Block is a terrible issue. These tips are really helpful! Thanks. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  20. A post full of points that are so relatable. Totally agreed and loved it ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Everything summed up nicely, loved the suggestions

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Observing nature is a really good idea. And it’s quite pacifying actually

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Short stories and music have always helped me. Great list πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Pretty! This has been an extremely wonderful post.

    Many thanks for providing this information.

    Like

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close